

REPORT 2017-2018 CHRIST COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS) IRINJALAKUDA

CHRIST COLLEGE, IRINJALAKUDA REPORT OF P.T.A. FOR 2017-2018 ACADEMIC YEAR

(To present before AGM 2018-2019 on 13th Nov2018)

The Annual General Body Meeting of P.T.A. 2017-18 was held on 9th November, 2017 in the College auditorium at 9.30 a.m.



Executive member Prof. V.A. Thomas did welcome the members and Dr. Mathew Paul Ukken, Principal in-charge presided over the meeting which was inaugurated by Fr. Jacob Njerinjambilly, Manager, Christ College Irinjalakuda. Mementoes were given away to rank holders of 2016-17 University Examinations and UGC NET, JRF winners of 2016-17. A token of appreciation was also given to Fr. Joy Peenikkaparambil (Winner of GV Raja, Best Physical Education Teacher - College section). A remarkable number of parents were present in the meeting. Afterwards a talk for parents was conducted on the topic "*Responsible Parenthood*" by Rev. Fr. Thomas Ambookkan (Galilee Counseling Center, Thrissur).

Annual general body business session was convened after the talk. For the Secretary, Dr. Leyon Varghese presented the annual report. PTA President Dr. Mathew Paul Ukken, emphasised the importance of active participation of parents in the academic and general disciple of students in the college and clarified several queries raised by parents. The Principal in-charge also briefed about the new facilities available for students, other activities of the college as well as the construction progress of the much ambitious Indoor Stadium Project.



The following P.T.A. members were elected unanimously as the office bearers of the academic year 2018-2019 in addition to the ex-officio members.

Vice President: Mr. K. N. Subhash

Other executive members are:

- 1. Ms. Sminu Liju
- 2. Ms. Bindu Kalesh

- 3. Adv. Sandhya Harilal
- 4. Ms. Sonia Giri
- 5. Mr. Asokan Kaithayil
- 6. Mr. Balachandran K. S.
- 7. Mr. P.K. Paul
- 8. Ms. Philomina James
- 9. Mr. Francis T. D.

10.Ms. Mini Johnson

11.Mr. Shylanath C.P.

Vice President of PTA 2017-18 Sri. M.L Babu. proposed the vote of thanks.

The new staff members later nominated for the year 2018-19 are:

- 1. Dr. Leyon Varghese (Dept. Zoology, Secretary),
- 2. Dr. Sudheer Sebastian (Dept. Physics)
- 3. Dr. V.T. Joy (Dept. Chemistry)
- 4. Prof. V.A. Thomas (Dept. BPE)
- 5. Prof. P.A. Varghese (Dept. Commerce)
- 6. Prof. Tintumol Sunny (Dept. Mathematics)
- 7. Prof. Viji Viswanathan (Dept. Computer Science)

Followed by other ex-officio members - the Vice-Principals.

Open house was conducted on the same day for final year UG and PG students with respective class teachers in the post lunch session.

A Combined Executive Committee meeting of PTA, Alumni and 'Higuita' staging committee was held on 11th Dec 2017. Dr. Mathew Paul Ukken, Principal in-charge briefed the main agenda of the combined meeting. The meeting paid homage to late Dr. Chandran former HOD of History. Adv. P Manikandan, alumni member elaborated the plans to stage the play on the 15th and 16th in the campus as a tribute to Fr. Thekkan. PTA members expressed whole hearted support for the success fo the event.

The next PTA Executive meeting was held on 04th January 2018 in the college conference hall mainly to discuss the purchase of a college bus. It was decided in that meeting to go ahead with the purchase of the college bus under the scheme - "MPLADS 2017-18" by Hon. MP Sri CN



Jayadevan. Sri ML Babu and Sri KN Subash was asked to represent the College PTA for a sitting of the State Higher Education Council scheduled on 6^{th} Jan 2018 at Gov guest house, Thrissur.

A per the decision from the previous meeting a general PTA meeting was held on 20th February 2018 with special attention to first and second year UG students and open house for the same afterwards. Mementoes were given away to rank holders of 2016-17 University Examinations and UGC NET, JRF winners of 2016-17.

The last executive meeting of the academic year 2017-18 was held on $28^{\mbox{th}}$ March

2018. A warm fare well was given to the outgoing Vice President Sri. M.L Babu and other members Sri. Manmohan T, Ms. Litty Austin and Ms. MAVijayalakshmi.

The first executive meeting of the academic year 2018-19 was held on 6th June 2018. Mr. KN Subash takes office as the new Vice President of PTA. Prof. VP Anto, Vice



principal, did welcome the gathering and the meeting congratulated Dr. Mathew Paul Ukken for being promoted to Principal of the college. He also briefed the institution of "Fr. Thekkan Memorial Best College Teacher Award" budgeted at Rs. Ten lakhs. Vice President, Sri. KN Subash offered an amount of Rs.10,000/- for its execution.

Another Executive meeting was held on 7th of Nov 2018 to discuss the agenda of annual general body. It was decided to conduct the AGM on the 13th of Nov 2018 Tuesday. The committee did welcome Fr. Sheejan, Assistant Prof of Geology and Environmental Science as the new nominated executive member. The brochure for Fr. Thekkan Memorial Best College Teacher award was distributed among the members.

And we are here today. Felicitations and words of gratitude are offered to all the executive member for their sincere cooperation and activities throughout the academic year. The annual report is open for consideration and approval of the general body.

Thank you,

Dr. Leyon Varghese, Secretary, PTA, Christ College Irinjalakuda.